with grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.

In the next week’s time, I have two papers, one project, and three comprehensive finals. I am underprepared for it all, my friends, because I have procrastinated in the most spectacular manner. Oh, I’m also in a wedding amongst all those school obligations. Fun, yes? I miss blogging, and I vow to return with some real substance soon. Until then, here are a few thoughts and links.

Help a brother or sister out. The back-to-back punch of deadly tornados and historic flooding has beaten us up down South. My family has been extraordinarily blessed, but so many others have lost loved ones and all they owned. My husband spent hours moving people out of their homes and sandbagging in a tiny Kentucky town the other night. The least the rest of us can do is pray and give. Samaritan’s Purse and The Red Cross are both incredible organizations. If you are in the areas hardest hit, I am sure churches are taking physical donations as well. Also, one of my favorite small companies, My Shirt Helps, has designed a t-shirt benefitting tornado relief. This company is so neat; they started up last year in middle Tennessee when the flood devastated Nashville, and since then they have worked to respond to other causes and tragedies.

Fresh asparagus is in. On a lighter note, I’ve had my first taste of fresh-from-the-ground veggies this spring. Hurry up, farmer’s market, I need more!

You want to hear this. I cannot stop listening to Mumford & Son’s album Sign No More. Every song on it is worthy of repeated listening, but I’ve been particularly stuck on “The Cave,” “Roll Away Your Stone,” “Little Lion Man,” “Awake My Soul,” and “After the Storm.” If you respond in no other way, go download “After the Storm” and–just for fun–try to resist being moved to tears. It’s the most beautiful work I’ve had the privilege of hearing in a long time.

What I want in September. This fall, Missoni (!!!) will be launching a collection for Target. Definitely my favorite designer collaboration Target has pulled off thus far. I’ll probably be taking a day off work/school/whatever-is-going-on-in-my-life-at-the-time to be there when the doors open.

By the way, the title of the post is part of the chorus from “After the Storm.” Now go listen!

Leave a Reply

