springtime blessings.

I’m convinced everyone on this planet loves springtime. The allergy sufferers may be a bit conflicted, but how could the first green buds peeking out their nubby heads not win over even the sneezing masses? I’m nursing a warm mug of coffee this morning with my backdoor wide open to the bustling, green outdoor world, and I’m counting the reasons my spirits rise this time of year.

Photo credit: Sujin Jetkasettakorn

{1} The colors. In rural areas in particular, the colors indicate the seasons. As soon as the first warm days arrive, I start looking up, watching for the first green sprouts on the trees. Then there are the dogwoods and other blooming trees. White, pink, and purple everywhere. It makes walking across campus enchanting

{2} Light, summer soups. Last year, during my veganish days, I discovered the perfect warm weather soup in Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Life. Though soups are typically associated with cold weather months, I found that fresh vegetables in light broth really do make a perfect spring lunch.

{3} The sounds. I’m about to tell you something very weird about myself. The distinctive, cacophonous sound of crickets makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Seriously, the other night I stepped outside and heard their chorus for the first time this year, and I was overwhelmed with gratefulness for the place I live. Nothing says sweet, Southern summer nights to me like crickets. There are birds, too, and when I begin to hear their songs first thing in the morning, I know friendlier weather is here.

{4} Effortlessly losing 5 pounds. It just falls off this time of year. My appetite is more easily satiated, and I run just to be outside. Why can’t I keep this up?

{5} Sandals. Yes, please, and thank you.

{6} Afternoons and evenings in the yard. Most nice days, I grab a blanket or just head for the front porch steps and set up camp. The salubrious effect is better than medication or naps. Okay, maybe take a nap outside.

{7} Warm weather dresses. My favorite piece of clothing. Ever.

What is your favorite part of warming weather?

One thought on “springtime blessings.

Leave a comment