spicy salad.

I am about to credit a rather surprising source: Wendy’s. That’s right.

Yesterday, the husband and I had an impromptu lunch in town after I had a cancelled class. Since his requirement for a weekday lunch is being able to eat for under $5, and since I knew Wendy’s had big salads, that was our choice. For the record, my salad was not an under $5 choice. My husband’s choices were, but I cannot share them because they are that shameful. Moving on….

I ordered the Baja salad, and it clearly made an impression on me because I was craving it again today. Of course, that meant I had to make my own.

This salad is really 5 part: lettuce, chili, guacamole, salsa/pico de gallo, and hot ranch dressing. The recipe below is broken into it’s component parts.

Quick Chili

Avocados, onion, cilantro, salsa, lemon juice

 

A few notes:
I did not use any jalapenos because I do not like them, but feel free to add them into their usual places. It was plenty spicy thanks to the chili powder, crushed red pepper, and onions, though. My amounts of cilantro are for cilantro-lovers. If that’s not you, you will probably want to cut back on it a bit. This “chili” is a thrown together, quick, meatless version (and not at all like my regular slow-cooked chili), but I will likely add some ground meat next time. Try it either way. Also, I did not use any fresh tomatoes because they are sky-high right now. When they’re in season, I would probably just make pico de gallo rather than the salsa mix.

Spicy Salad

Quick “Chili”

  • 1 can chili-ready beans (or 2 cups dried kidney beans)
  • 1 can chili-ready diced tomatoes
  • 2.5 t chili powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t crushed red pepper
  1. Mix beans and tomatoes in skillet and heat over low heat.
  2. Add chili powder, salt, and crushed red pepper. Adjust to taste. If not using chili-ready beans and tomatoes, you will probably need more spices.
  3. When mixture begins to bubble, turn off and allow to thicken.

Guacamole

  • 2 avocados
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 onion, finely diced
  • 1-2 t lemon or lime juice
  • salt, to taste
  1. Scoop out avocados and mash with fork.
  2. Add diced onion, cilantro, juice, and salt. Mix well.

Salsa/Pico de Gallo Sauce

  • 3/4 jar medium salsa
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 onion, finely diced
  • salt, to taste
  • lime or lemon juice, to taste
  1. Pour salsa into bowl. (So complex, I know.)
  2. Add remaining ingredients and mix. Adjust to taste.

Spicy Ranch Dressing

  • Ranch dressing
  • Chili powder
  1. Add chili powder to dressing in 1/2 t increments until satisfied with taste.

Put It Together

  • Fill plate/bowl with lettuce and pile it on!

 

I’m going back for seconds. Right now.

 

Lots of love,
Rebecca

Leave a Reply

