tarragon pork chops.

Today was stunning. The temperature rose so high I was forced to shrug off my jacket, and I ran in shorts for the first time since late fall. I pushed myself during my run intervals, but I knew something about my breathing was off. As soon as I came in and settled down, I started sniffling and, later, sneezing. Now there’s lovely stuff filling my nose and throat. I must have breathed in a little too much of whatever allergen has begun to bloom. I’m just hoping it spares my eyes the land of red itchiness. Last year, I purposely knocked myself out with allergy medication because the itching was driving me loony. I do not recommend that choice, for the record.

I digress so, so far. Last night, I promised tarragon chicken, but I soon remembered some bargain pork chops sitting in the bottom drawer of the refrigerator, so it was tarragon pork chops instead.

If your love for tarragon doesn’t inspire kitchen dancing, you might not appreciate these to the degree that my gushing indicates. But my love for tarragon inspires dancing, so I am going to gush. I could eat these every other night. There’s something about the combination of tarragon, butter, and lemon that gives me a little glimpse of bliss. I’m not a great cook. I post some of the things I cook for that very reason. I’m an amateur, still-learning home cook. However, these are downright delightful. Or maybe it’s just the tarragon.

Tarragon Pork Chops

  • 2 one-half inch pork chops
  • 1 T butter
  • sea salt
  • 1/2 lemon (or a little lemon juice)
  • chopped tarragon
  1. Heat grill pan over medium-high heat and melt butter.
  2. When butter is melted, add pork chops.
  3. Sprinkle with sea salt.
  4. Cook for 12-15 minutes, flipping each pork chop 2-3 times.
  5. About 3 minutes before removing from heat, sprinkle generously with tarragon and a squeeze of lemon juice.

I do apologize for the lack of exact measurements. The reason I lean more toward cooking than baking is it doesn’t require exactness; essentially, everything is ‘to taste.’ However, I realize it would be more helpful to post exact measurements with recipes. I’ll try to do better.

Until then, I hope you enjoy.

 

My treat for the night…creamy chai tea in a monogrammed Anthropologie mug.

 

Lots of love,
Rebecca

2 thoughts on “tarragon pork chops.

  1. Great quote! I actually ate a vegetarian/veganish diet last year, and when I recently started eating meat again, it was bacon that I wanted every single day. Not steak or anything, just bacon. There’s something about it. Greens and bacon can co-exist peacefully, as far as I’m concerned.

    Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

