interesting almonds: attempt une

One of the perils of eternal studentdom is the lack of a decent lunch hour. This semester, my lunch consists of almonds three days a week. I used to eat protein bars during school days, but I can’t find one that seems unprocessed enough to suit me. I’m also trying to cut waaay back on sugar, and even the healthier bars are typically loaded.

Point: I’m getting pretty sick of plain almonds, but they are satiating, nutritious, and easy to tote around. To remedy this sad state of lunch events, I’ve issued myself a challenge to create a variety of spiced almond recipes.

As a jumping off point, I checked the roasting technique in this gem:

The Illustrated Cook’s Book of Ingredients. Not only does it brighten up my kitchen, it has all the basic, I-can’t-believe-I-don’t-know-this information for which I always seem to be searching.

Then, I set out on my first attempt, which failed. In the time it took to fling a cup of burnt almonds into the trash, I was already onto the second attempt, which I renamed the first attempt for the sake of saving face.

Cinnamon Roasted Almonds

  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1/2 t olive oil
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • 1/2 T cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 300.
  2. Drizzle oil over almonds and toss to coat. A little oil goes a long way once you start tossing.
  3. Sprinkle on sea salt and cinnamon. Toss to coat evenly.
  4. Roast in oven for 10 minutes.
  5. Allow to sit and cool before eating, unless you’re like me and want to see how quickly you can scald your tongue.

These have just enough flavor to be a nice break from the monotony of plain almonds. If you want something sweet to snack on, a touch of honey would be delicious mixed in with these.

For the next batch, I’m thinking something with paprika perhaps. Yes? No? Does anyone else make simple, nutritious snacks at home?

Music: “Kick Drum Heart” : The Avett Brothers

Lots of love from the South,
Rebecca

Leave a Reply

