mellow miso mushroom soup

Brace yourself, there is food ahead. Food? Not fashion? I know, I know. The food half of my blog has been a bit absent lately, but I’m tearing my mind away from maxi skirts and focusing it on mushrooms instead.

Question: What’s a girl to do when she’s home on Friday night with a pound and a half of mushrooms?

Soup, obviously.

This soup is simple, but the miso and mushrooms add a satisfying depth. If you have a hearty appetite, this would make a good appetizer, but I prefer it as a light meal.

Mellow Miso Mushroom Soup

These quantities are easily changed; this is based on the amount of mushrooms I had on hand.

  • 1 1/2 pounds mushrooms, cut into large chunks (I used large white and baby bellas.)
  • 8 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 heaping T miso
  • 2 T olive oil
  1. Heat olive oil in stockpot and add onion. Cook over medium-low heat while preparing mushrooms.
  2. Chop mushrooms into large chunks. I quartered the baby bellas as a size model.
  3. Add broth to onions and allow to heat.
  4. Add mushrooms to liquid. Cover pot and allow to cook for approximately 30 minutes.
  5. Five to ten minutes before you want to take the soup off, stir in the miso. You do not want the miso to boil, as it reportedly affects some of the nutritious properties.

It’s that easy. If you would like, add some salt or shoyu. I prefer to allow the miso and the mushrooms to do all the flavoring, though.

I think this is the grown-up version of the chicken noodle soup moms always served us as sick kids. It’s the perfect thing to curl up with on a rainy day or, you know, a Friday night when your big plans are eating and cleaning out your closet. Try not to be jealous of my exhilarating night.

 

Lots of love from the South,
Rebecca

Leave a Reply

