Wanted: Books

Few things provide the same anticipatory excitement as a new book full of unread thoughts waiting to be absorbed. Sometimes, if I haven’t made the time for new reading, I find myself yearning for that sensation of being pulled in and under the tide of a new literary world. I’ve read quite a bit in my downtime the past few months, but with my academic life resurrecting this week, it’s going to be more difficult to fit in non-academic reading. To encourage myself, I’m planning on downloading these “reading for pleasure” books to have on standby.

{1} Generous Justice by Timothy Keller

I’m intrigued to see what Keller has to say about the Biblical framework for addressing social injustices. It’s an area I’ve been concerned about for a few years now, and Keller is known for presenting issues of the Christian faith in an intelligent, fresh, and sound manner.

{2} Just Kids by Patti Smith

I’ve wanted to read this memoir for months but, somehow, never have. Everything I’ve read about it has been positive. It’s one of the first on my list for the rest of the winter.

{3} Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

Another one that has been on my radar for a number of months but I have yet to read.

{4} Love and Other Impossible Pursuits by Ayelet Waldman

I loved Waldman’s Red Hook Road, but it’s the only work of hers that I have read. Natalie Portman is set to star in a film adaptation (The Other Woman), so I want to make sure I get to the book before I’m tempted to see the movie.

Leave a Reply

