Roasted Tomatoes

Sometimes it’s the simplest, most classic things that are truly the best. Austen. Dylan. A black cocktail dress. Perfectly fitting jeans. Roasted tomatoes.

This dish–if it qualifies as such–was so easy to make, and it’s just perfect. Few foods can compete with my passion for tomatoes. I enjoy them so much that I typically wait to eat them when they’re in season because a bad tomato just angers me. If you feel the same about tomatoes, and even if you don’t, you must try this.

I got these simple directions from Orangette, though I tweaked the spices a bit because I didn’t have coriander. According to her recipe, coriander is the special ingredient, so I’ll be using it next time. It’s still superbly delicious without the coriander, though.

Juicy Roasted Tomatoes

  • Roma tomatoes, as many as you want, halved
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Herbes de Provence (or other spices you want to try)
  1. Lightly coat tomato halves with olive oil. Orangette suggests using a pastry brush; I used my fingers. Place tomatoes on ungreased cookie sheet.
  2. Sprinkle tomatoes with sea salt and herbes de Provence.
  3. Cook on 200 for about 6 hours.

Pre-roasting. Only 6 hours from melting in my mouth.

Be warned that these gems won’t last long. My husband and I ate them within an hour. I popped a couple in my mouth like candy and then added a few more to my sandwich while my husband scarfed them down like he does everything else…blindingly fast.

The slow roasting makes them extra juicy and worthy of any tomato lover’s devotion. As for the spices, I think you could put nearly anything on these and create something wonderful. Herbes de Provence is one of my favorite blends, so of course I thought it was perfect. I’m also anxious to try it with sea salt and basil as well as the coriander suggested in the original recipe. Please share if you try it with other additions! I’m thinking this would be a nice addition to my Thanksgiving menu in some form.

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

