Stormy Morning

Woke up to a tornado warning this morning.

Because I’m terrified of tornados, I get texts from the Weather Channel about severe weather, so that served as my alarm this a.m. Gratefully, all we got at the house was some wicked wind and a rain storm, but the other side of the county reportedly had a tornado touch down.

After all the excitement, I finally made my wholesome breakfast of choice–old fashioned oatmeal, honey, almond milk, and cinnamon. Mmm. I’ve been mixing in some pureed pumpkin and fresh grated nutmeg lately, too. Please try it. You will thank yourself.

Yesterday, I started the day with oatmeal, and that’s where the admirable eating stopped. As I made an afternoon trip to Nashville (2 hours away), I snacked on a small bag of trail mix for lunch. Not very filling. While I raced back to my parents’ house for a family dinner since my brother was briefly in from Florida, I sipped on a soy pumpkin spice latte to hold me over. Then, as always happens when I don’t eat enough during the day, I gorged myself at dinner. My mom made me bean enchiladas, but the real gem was a homemade pico de gallo-esque dip. The condiment itself–black beans, onion, corn, tomato, cilantro, and lime juice–was fresh and healthy, but I can’t say the same for the handfuls of tortilla chips I consumed.

It took me years to accept that eating more early in the day would actually help me eat more healthily and not binge later in the day, but it’s true. Now, I eat breakfast every morning, but making sure I have a full lunch is sometimes an issue if I’m not at home. See yesterday’s recap for example. To remedy the problem, I’m running by the grocery on my way to work today and grabbing some fruit, so I’ll at least have a decent snack. Tonight, I’m trying a new recipe with the gigantic butternut squash that’s taking up space in my refrigerator. I’m not sure what the recipe will be just yet, but I’ll be posting about it later.

Leave a Reply

