Flat Tires and Butternut Squash

This is how my planned trip to town turned out:

The husband/fireman changing my deflated tire.

Me, giving in and seeking shelter in the truck.

All of this happened during the first steady rain we’ve had in months. Oh, and the temperature felt about 30 degrees cooler than yesterday. On the upside, well, a flat tire isn’t really that big of a deal in the end, is it? I laughed quite a bit, actually, though I wasn’t the one changing the tire in the chilling rain.

After all the morning shenanigans, I didn’t feel like messing with an involved dinner. Luckily, a butternut squash is a meal in itself.

I apologize for the shoddy photography. I’m reading about aperture and shutter speed and whatnot, but my pictures still look like this. The squash was actually a nice, bright orange color once cooked. You’ll have to take my word for it.

This was my first time cooking butternut squash, and I’m now in love with it due to its gentle, tasty cooperation. As far as low-effort/high-taste goes, this is the jackpot. The squash has a sweet, buttery flavor without any help, but you can jazz it up in about any way you can imagine. I stuffed it with brown rice, sprinkled on slivered almonds, cinnamon, and porcini sea salt, and it was delicious.

Butternut Squash with Brown Rice

  • 1 butternut squash
  • olive oil
  • 2 servings brown rice
  • slivered almonds (a handful will do)
  • 2 pinches sea salt
  • 1 pinch cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Half squash lengthwise and remove seeds. Coat inside lightly with olive oil (oil misters work great!). Place squash face down in large baking dish and add about a half inch of water. Bake for about 45 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cook brown rice according to directions.
  4. When squash is finished, fill hollowed out portion with brown rice. Sprinkle almonds, cinnamon, and sea salt along length of squash.
  5. Eat! Also, be amazed that so little work delivered such scrumptious results.

I’m already dreaming about trying a really naughty version of this…brown sugar, vegan butter, cinnamon. Squash might just be my next dessert.

This would be wonderful with a big salad or a side of green vegetables. However, to be such a clean meal, it’s very warm and filling on its own.

Leave a Reply

